Farm Radio Awards

Farm Radio International celebrates excellence within its radio network with two awards. The George Atkins Communications Award celebrates an outstanding broadcaster in our network who is committed to family farmers and rural communities. The Liz Hughes Award for Her Farm Radio celebrates a program team that addresses gender equality and has had an impact on the community.

This year, the deadline to apply for both awards has been extended to October 11, 2021. The winners will be announced at a special World Radio Day announcement in February, 2022.

Stay tuned for the deadline for the 2023 awards.

george-atkins comms award

The George Atkins Communications Award was established in 1991 to recognize rural radio broadcasters for their outstanding commitment and contribution to food security and poverty reduction in low-income countries. The award is named after George S. Atkins, the founding director of Farm Radio International. The award is presented each year to an individual who demonstrates overall programming excellence in responding to small-scale farmers' needs as well as commitment to Farm Radio International.

The broadcasters who win the George Atkins Communications Award receive a certificate and a prize of $500 CA.

Meet the 2022 winners:

Patricia Kasoki, Radio communautaire et environnementale de Kanyabayonga (RCEKA-FM), DRC

Rosemonde Bakieno, Radio Munyu, Burkina Faso

Solomon Ayele, Debre Berhan Fana FM 94.0, Ethiopia

To be eligible for the award, an individual must work:

  • Have a minimum of three years radio broadcasting experience.
  • Work at an organization that has been a broadcasting partner of Farm Radio International for a minimum of one year.

If you're not sure of your station’s eligibility, please contact

Liz Hughes award

The Liz Hughes Award for Her Farm Radio recognizes radio stations and producers who are dedicated to serving women listeners. Their radio programs address and advance gender equality. They may share the experiences and opinions of women, or address issues of concern to women. Farm Radio International developed this award in memory of former board member Liz Hughes.

In rural sub-Saharan Africa, women play an important role in farming, family, and the community. Yet they are more likely to experience extreme poverty, malnutrition, and poor health. They are also likely to have less access to and control over resources, including information. It is essential that radio programs serve the needs and interests of women as well as men. In this way, both women and men can benefit from the information shared, and have the potential to contribute to community development.

The winning broadcast team will receive a certificate and a $1,000 CAD prize in recognition of their excellent work.
Any radio station in sub-Saharan Africa may apply for this award. This award is for a radio station / program team, and broadcasters / station managers should submit on behalf of the team. Stations may submit more than one application if applying on behalf of different programs.

Note: "Program” refers to the program as a whole, and “episode” refers to individual (weekly or daily) broadcasts of the program. Please do not submit applications for multiple episodes. Use your best episode as the example in the application, but only one episode of a program will be accepted.

The 2022 winner is Leadership au féminin (Leadership for women) from Radio Media + (Bouaké), Côte d’Ivoire

The runner up is Jinsia na Maendeleo (Gender and Development) from Radio Maria, Tanzania

Meet the past winners:
2019: Voice of Kigezi’s B’Omugaiga program
2020: Uganda Community Green Radio's Nyinabwenge program
2021: Radio Communautaire Salama’s Ujeuri Dhidi Ya Wanawake program

She Show from Ahomka FM, Ghana (Runner-up prize)
Agriculture et Developpement Show from Radio Rurale Locale de Banikoara, Benin (Runner-up prize)